How to Start an Herb Garden

As summer rolls around, it’s time to start thinking about some fun summer projects! By far, my favorite summer project I’ve ever done was creating an herb garden in my backyard. There are tons of ways to design your herb garden and it can be as simple or as elegant as you wish! On the simpler side, you can buy some small pots and display your herbs on your windowsill for a fun and easy way to brighten up your kitchen. If you want to make an outdoor herb garden, like I did, you can either buy or build yours
from scratch. If you decide to build your own garden, there are all kinds of different designs you can use. (Pinterest has a plethora or awesome ideas!) For my herb garden, I wanted to create a design that allowed for easy access to all the herbs so that I could water and tend to them easily. I started by making a box shape with some spare boards. Then I measured the inside of the box to get the dimensions for my shelves. From there, I attached the shelves at an angle, so that the pots could all be placed at different heights. Finally, I attached some legs to the base of the box to give my herb garden some height.

Then comes the really fun part, picking out the herbs! I recommend getting a wide variety of herbs, such as mint, oregano, rosemary, basil, and thyme! This is also the perfect opportunity to try something new, so don’t be afraid to branch out a little! Once you’ve selected your herbs, you’ll also need some pots for planting them. I chose to go with terra cotta clay pots (Home Depot sells them for $3 – $4). However, the clay pots can’t handle extreme temperatures, so I would recommend bringing them inside during the winter. As a final tip, I planted some marigolds alongside my herbs because marigolds deter insects and discourage them from munching on your herbs.

An herb garden will add some serious style to your backyard (or kitchen) and will provide you with plenty of wonderful herbs for cooking. I hope these tips help you create an herb garden that you enjoy from start to finish! And above all, have fun!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

lordofthetrekkies

For Dorks of All Kinds

Blissfully Bianca

Blissfully be Who you are and what He wants you to Be

The Innovative Pathfinder

Trailblazing Life One Step at a Time

Design.blog

Design, Inclusion, +/- Tech

